December 7, 2023

EP #09 | A Critical Evaluation of Critical Race Theory

A Pastoral Podcast -- ministry cover img

What is Critical Race Theory?

For the past three years, Critical Race Theory (CRT) has been a major force in American society. It occupies a primary point of concern for its opponents, while its advocates among the elite argue that it is simultaneously a ‘boogeyman’ for conservatives as well as a legitimate field of study. While the title is frequently denied, its core tenets are nevertheless being implemented across every major institution, and—more disturbingly—they are held in principle as convictions by large swaths of the American population.

Sadly, the church has not escaped the conflict. American evangelicals are lining up on either side of the divide, with each side claiming a gospel obligation to take their respective stand.

In this very important episode of A Pastoral Podcast, Lloyd and Tony talk about Critical Race Theory. They discuss what it is, how some have responded to it, and how Christians should think about it from a biblical perspective.

——

Resources on CRT:

“The Underlying Problem with Critical Race Theory,“ article by Lloyd Murphy — ⁠https://firmfoundationpv.org/the-underlying-problem-with-critical-race-theory/⁠

“Christianity & Racism,“ sermon by Tony de la Riva — ⁠https://firmfoundationpv.org/sermon/christianity-and-racism/⁠

"BLM, Discernment and the Devil’s Dictionary,“ article by Lloyd Murphy — ⁠https://firmfoundationpv.org/blm-discernment-and-the-devils-dictionary/⁠

“Critical Race Theory” by the Just Thinking Podcast — https://justthinking.me/ep-108-critical-race-theory/

“What is Critical Race Theory?” by James Lindsay — https://youtu.be/BED_D6Hc6TU?si=vs2b6gTYucVQeOS_

“Is Critical Theory Compatible with Christianity?” by John Stonestreet — https://breakpoint.org/is-critical-theory-compatible-with-christianity/

Fault Lines by Voddie Baucham — https://www.voddiebaucham.org/fault-lines/

——

Related resources:

“Critical Theory and the Cynical Transformation of Society: A Conversation with James Lindsay” by Al Mohler — https://albertmohler.com/2020/09/02/james-lindsay

The Just Thinking Podcast — https://justthinking.me/podcast-home/

Created in God's Image by Anthony Hoekema — https://www.christianbook.com/created-in-gods-image/anthony-hoekema/9780802808509/pd/2808506

The Life of the Mind: Lectures by Carl Trueman — https://bit.ly/47RCb4b

The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self by Carl Trueman — https://www.crossway.org/books/the-rise-and-triumph-of-the-modern-self-hcj/

Articles by Thomas Sowell — https://www.jewishworldreview.com/cols/sowell.archives.asp

Books by Thomas Sowell — tsowell.com/writings.html

Resources for Christians: News & Worldview — https://firmfoundationpv.org/resources-for-christians/news-worldview/

Share This Episode